Spring burning restrictions take effect in Polk County, other counties in NW MN

Times Report
Crookston Times

    Warm temperatures and dry conditions in northwest Minnesota mean increased wildfire risk, so the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources is restricting open burning in the following counties effective immediately: Beltrami (north and south), Cass (north), Clearwater, Itasca, Mahnomen, Polk,  Red Lake,  Kittson, Koochiching, Lake of the Woods, Marshall, Pennington and Roseau.

    The state will not issue burning permits for brush or yard waste in these counties until restrictions are lifted.

    “Escaped debris burns are the number one cause of wildfires. That’s why we issue these restrictions,” said Casey McCoy, DNR fire prevention supervisor. “They really work—we’ve reduced wildfires by nearly a third since we started spring burning restrictions.”

    McCoy encourages residents to use alternatives to burning, such as composting, chipping, or taking brush to a collection site. For information on how to compost yard debris, visit the DNR’s guide to composting yard debris.

    People who burn debris will be held financially responsible if their fire escapes and burns other property.

    Burning restrictions will be lifted when wildfire risk subsides. For information and daily updates on current fire risk and open burning restrictions, visit the DNR website: mndnr.gov/burnrestrictions.