12 Golden Eagles named to NSIC All-Academic Teams

Times Report
The Minnesota Crookston women's basketball team huddles before the start of a game Friday, Feb. 5 against Minnesota Duluth.

Twelve Minnesota Crookston women's basketball players were named to the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Winter Academic Team, and eight were selected to the NSIC All-Academic Team of Excellence.

Alyssa Peterson (So.), Bren Fox (Jr.), Jennifer Lax (Sr.) Kylea Praska (Jr.), Kylie Post (Jr.), Mary Burke (R-So.), Mattea Vetsch (So.) and Veronica Schwartz (So.) were named to the Team of Excellence. Ashley Freund (Sr.), Emma Carpenter (So.), Julia Peplinski (Jr.) and Paige Cornale (Jr.) earned All-Academic Team honors.

To be eligible for the NSIC All-Academic Team of Excellence, a student-athlete must have a 3.60 cumulative grade-point average or higher. NSIC All-Academic Team members must have a 3.20 cumulative GPA or higher. 

Additionally, the student-athlete must be a member of the varsity team, have reached sophomore athletic and academic standing at her/his institution (true freshmen, red-shirt freshmen and ineligible athletic transfers are not eligible) and must have completed at least one full academic year at that institution.

The Times welcomes your feedback. You can send any comments or questions to our office at (218) 281-2730 or sports editor Jacob Shames at jshames@crookstontimes.com.

Follow along on Twitter @crookstonsports and @Jacob_Shames for all the latest stories and live game updates.