99¢ for the first month
99¢ for the first month

Mark Lyczewski wins Ernotte Hiller Memorial Tournament at Minakwa

Jacob Shames
Crookston Times
Mark Lyczewski chips his ball onto the green. Lyczewski won the Ernote Hiller Memorial Tournament at Minakwa Golf Course on Monday for a fifth time.

Mark Lyczewski is back on top.

The Ernotte Hiller Memorial Tournament veteran won his fifth tournament championship Monday, beating Jason Thompson 7-and-6 in the final round of the two-day match-play tournament. Lyczewski, who last won the Labor Day tournament in 2017, was runner-up in 2018 and a quarterfinalist in 2019.

Lyczewski earned the fourth seed in the 16-team championship flight in Saturday's qualifying. He beat Derek Martin and Minnesota Crookston golfer Brian Bekkala on Sunday, and beat top-seeded Scott Lindgren 2 and 1 in Monday morning's semifinal.

Thompson, who is from Owatonna, beat Craig Stahlecker, Rylin Petry and Eric Schultz to reach the final.

Wade Hanson beat UMC golfer Connor Humble in the consolation championship.


  • Championship Flight: Mark Lyczewski def. Jason Thompson 7-and-6
  • Championship Consolation: Wade Hanson def. Connor Humble 3-and-2
  • Minakwa Flight Championship: Wyatt Hanson def. Isaac Westlake 1-up
  • Minakwa Flight Consolation: Rich Clauson def. Quinn Westlake 2-and-1
  • Hiller Flight Championship: Vance Harren def. Sam Melbye 2-and-1
  • Hiller Flight Consolation: Trent Fischer def. Matt Rust
  • Red River Flight Championship: Seth Hanson def. Cade Peterson 2-up
  • Red River Flight Consolation: Adam Stratton def. Masen Nowacki 2-up
  • Kwa Flight Championship: Curtis Regan def. Jason Tangquist 4-and-2
  • Kwa Flight Consolation: Andy Fee def. Brad Brekken 2-up
  • 1st Flight Championship: Dave Kildahl def. Barry Bergan 1-up
  • 1st Flight Consolation: Kyle Koerber def. Brian Gramer 5-and-3
  • 2nd Flight Championship: Mitch Graham def. Troy Fischer 5-and-4
  • 2nd Flight Consolation: Adam Maruska def. Marley Melbye
  • 3rd Flight Championship: Mike Proulx def. Joe Lessard 1x
  • 3rd Flight Consolation: Rob Stoe def. Roy Thurston 2x
  • 4th Flight Championship: Paul Bittner def. Blake Fee 2-and-1
  • 4th Flight Consolation: Mike Aanestad def. Cheri Aanestad

The Times welcomes your feedback. You can send any comments or questions to our office at (218) 281-2730, Jacob Shames (405) 496-0168 or by email at

Follow along on Twitter @crookstonsports and @Jacob_Shames for all the latest stories and live game updates.