Ron Thompson, Len Devos, Carol Anderson Barrett, Elaine Anderson, Hank Hulst and Bill Taylor will be honored along with members of the A Capella group, The Soles.

    Members of the 2017 Class who were unable to attend last year’s induction, four new members of the Crookston High School Hall of Fame Class and two members of the “Legends Hall of Fame” will be Inducted Saturday, August 18 at 3:00 p.m. during Ox Cart Days.

    The 2017 group was an A Capella group named The Soles consisting of Eric Patenaude, Kevin Taylor, Brent Thorson and Eric Barnum. The Soles had their start at Crookston High School in the late 1990s.

The 2018 group includes:

    Ron Thompson, was a teacher, coach and long-time sports official, for over 31 years in Crookston. He also taught drivers training for many years.

    Len Devos was a three-sport letter winner at Crookston Central High School in the early 1970s. He was a co-captain of the 1974 State Championship Track Team, placing third in both shot and discus.

    Carol Anderson Barrett and Elaine Anderson Phillips are sisters who will be inducted together in this year’s class.  Carol is a composer whose works have been recorded and performed world-wide. Elaine has published books and essays and is a recognized lecturer.

    Charles Potter was a classroom teacher, principal and superintendent in the Crookston Public Schools in the 1960s and 1970s. He was considered to be an educator innovator by his peers.

    The two new members of the “Crookston High School Legends Hall of Fame” are Henry “Hank” Hulst and Bill Taylor.

    Hulst was the first 1,000 point scorer in boys’ basketball history. He also held the Minnesota scoring record of 47 points in one game for a number of years.

    Bill Taylor was a four-sport letter winner in the late 1950s.  He was quarterback of the first undefeated football team and the first Individual State Champion when he won the high jump at the state tournament in 1959.