Local voter turnout is huge in midterm election.

Former Crookston City Council member Guy Martin emerged from a handful of candidates on Election Day Tuesday and was elected mayor by an 11-vote margin over second place finisher Dean Adams, and 22 votes over third place finisher Clayton Briggs, currently a council member. Current council member Dale Stainbrook came in fourth, followed by former council member Dana Johnson.

Current Mayor Wayne Melbye didn't seek another term.

For the at-large council seat, Tom Vedbraaten was elected, meaning he'll move in January from his current Ward 6 seat, which will in 2019 be held by Cindy Gjerswold, who ran unopposed in that ward. Vedbraaten, a longtime council member, told the Times his initial plan was to not seek another term, but he was encouraged by several people to run, he said, and when he saw Gjerswold was running in his ward, he shifted his focus to the at large seat being vacated by Bob Quanrud. Others seeking the at-large seat, in order of finish, where Trent Brekken, Dylane Klatt, Joe Kresl and Kelly Shea.

In the only other contested race on the council, Don Cavalier was elected in Ward 4 by a comfortable margin over Sharon Lewis, who said initially she only filed her candidacy because she didn't think anyone was running in the ward and, as a result, it wouldn't be represented on the council. Current council member Dennis Regan decided against seeking another term.

For school board, incumbents Tim Dufault, Adrianne Winger and Patty Dillabough were re-elected (in that order, as far as number of votes goes). They bested a trio of challengers by a comfortable margin, in order of finish, Katya Zepeda, Jim McBride and Marcia Meine.

In other races, Polk County voters elected longtime deputy Jim Tadman sheriff, over longtime deputy Randy Sondrol, after current Sheriff Barb Erdman decided against seeking another term.

As for the state legislature, Crookston Republican Deb Kiel easily won a fourth term in District 1B over East Grand Forks DFLer Brent Lindstrom.