Experts from across the globe gather to address most critical issues facing global food security

    A contingent from the University of Minnesota Crookston is in Des Moines, Iowa this week for the 2018 Borlaug Dialogue International Symposium that features an array of international leaders, policy makers, farmers, executives from agribusiness and non-governmental organizations, and scientific, academic and development experts that are addressing the most critical issues facing global food security

    The World Food Prize event from October 17-19 is themed “Rise to the Challenge” and refers to the global movement to feed an estimated 9 billion people by the year 2050.

    In attendance from UMC are Chancellor Mary Holz-Clause, Harouna Maiga, head of the Agriculture and Natural Resources Department, and Michelle Christopherson, director of engagement and outreach. Also in attendance, serving as a group leader, is UMC sophomore Eleora DeMuth, and four Grand Rapids High School students, Liberty Blaine, KaeLyn Stephens, Emma Tolrud and Ayden Glover. The Grand Rapids students attended the Northern Great Plains Institute, a World Food Prize event, at UMC earlier this year and advanced to the Iowa event.

    The World Food Prize is the foremost international award recognizing the achievements of individuals who have advanced human development by improving the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world. The Prize was founded in 1986 by Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, recipient of the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize. Since then, the World Food Prize has honored 48 outstanding individuals who have made vital contributions throughout the world. The World Food Prize annually hosts the Borlaug Dialogue international symposium and a variety of youth education programs to help further the discussion on cutting-edge global food security issues and inspire the next generation to end hunger.

    The full agenda and speaker list can be found at All sessions will also be webcast live from

    Highlighted speakers this year will include:

    • H.E. Mercedes Aráoz, Vice President of Peru and Chair of the Food Forever Initiative

    • H.E. Akin Adesina, 2017 World Food Prize Laureate and President of the African Development Bank

    • Dr. Rob Bertram, Chief Scientist at the Bureau for Food Security at the USDA

    • Dr. Noelle Cockett, President of Utah State University

    • James C. Collins, Chief Operating Officer of Corteva Agriscience™, Agriculture Division of DowDuPont™

    • Liam Condon, Member of the Board of Management, Bayer AG & President of the Crop Science Division at Bayer

    • Sir Gordon Conway, Professor of International Development, Imperial College London

    • Dr. Ashok Dalwai, Chief Executive Officer at the NRAA, Department of Agriculture & Cooperation for the Government of India

    • Prof. Louise Fresco, President of Wageningen University and Research

    • Dr. Lawrence Haddad, 2018 World Food Prize Laureate and Executive Director of GAIN

    • Randal J. Kirk, Chief Executive Officer at Intrexon Corporation

    • Amb. Michael Klosson, Vice President of Policy and Humanitarian Response at Save the Children

    • Dr. Martin Kropff, Director General at the International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center (CIMMYT)

    • Under Secretary Ted McKinney, Under Secretary of Agriculture for Trade and Foreign Agricultural Affairs at the USDA

    • Dr. David Nabarro, 2018 World Food Prize Laureate and Strategic Director of Skills at the Systems & Synergies for Sustainable Development (4SD)

    • Hon. Prof. Ruth Oniang’o, Chair of the Board at Sasakawa Africa Foundation

    • Rajul Pandya-Lorch, Director of Communications and Public Affairs at the International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI)

    • H.E. Gerda Verburg, United Nations Assistant Secretary-General and Coordinator, SUN Movement

    • In addition, there will be a panel discussion with the 2018 World Food Prize Laureates – Dr. Lawrence Haddad and Dr. David Nabarro.