Many candidates for local office will share the UMC Kiehle Auditorium stage.

    Voters will have an opportunity to learn more about the candidates running for the District #593 School Board, Crookston City Council. Crookston mayor, Polk County Sheriff, and Minnesota House District 1B at a Meet the Candidates forum on Monday, October 1. The forum, jointly sponsored by the Crookston Area Chamber and the University of Minnesota Crookston, will be held in Kiehle Auditorium on the UMC campus. KROX Radio will broadcast the program live.

    The forum, which begins at 5:30 p.m., will include five moderated segments. The school board candidates will lead off, followed by the city council candidates and mayoral candidates. Next up will be the sheriff candidates followed by the Minnesota House District 1B candidates.

     Six candidates vying for the seats on the school board are incumbents Patty Dillabough, Tim Dufault, and Adrianne Winger, in addition to Marcia Meine, Jim McBride, and Katya Zepeda.

    There are 10 candidates running city council seats. Incumbent Steve Erickson in Ward 2, Don Cavalier and Sharon Lewis in Ward 4, Cindy Gjerswold in Ward 6, and Trent Brekken, Dylane Klatt, Joe, Kresl, Kelly Shea and Tom Vedbraaten for the at-large seat.

    Five candidates are vying to be mayor. They are Dean Adams, Clayton Briggs, Dana Johnson, Guy Martin, and Dale Stainbrook.

    Two candidates are running for sheriff, Randy Sondrol and Jim Tadman.

    Minnesota House District 1B candidates, incumbent Republican Deb Kiel and DFLer Brent Lindstrom.

    The forum is free and all are welcome. For more information, call the Crookston Area Chamber at 281-4320.