Candidate filing deadline for local offices is one day away

    One day before the filing window closes, Crookston residents now have a trio of mayoral candidates to choose from in the November election. Dana Johnson, a former Crookston City Council member representing Ward 2 who lost in a previous re-election bid to Steve Erickson, on Friday filed her candidacy for mayor. Johnson joins current council members Clayton Briggs and Dale Stainbrook, from Ward 3 and Ward 5, respectively, in the mayoral race.

    Neither the Ward 3 nor the Ward 5 seat is up for election this November. If either Briggs or Stainbrook is elected mayor, the council in early 2019 will need to appoint a successor to finish the term in their ward. Briggs and/or Stainbrook, if one or both of them come up short on election day, will be able to return to their council seat and finish their term.

    The deadline for candidates to file for city council, mayor, or Crookston School Board is the close of business on Tuesday, Aug. 14. Here’s where things stood at press time Monday:

    • In Ward 2, incumbent Steve Erickson has filed for another term.

    • In Ward 4, Don Cavalier and Sharon Lewis have filed, and incumbent Dennis Regan has yet to file for re-election.

    • In Ward 6, Cindy Gjerswold has filed, while incumbent Tom Vedbraaten has yet to file for another term. Gjerswold ran for an at large seat on the council in 2016 as well.

    • In the at-large seat up for election in November, incumbent Bob Quanrud is not seeking another term. Kelly Shea is running for the seat.

    As for the school board, all three board members currently holding the seats up for election this year have filed for re-election. They are Tim Dufault, Adrianne Winger and Patty Dillabough.

    Katya Zepeda has also filed her candidacy for school board, along with Jim McBride. McBride ran in 2016 as well.

    The top three vote-getters on election day in November will be elected to the board.