He joins fellow council member Briggs in seeking to succeed Melbye

    Following in the footsteps of Clayton Briggs, a second sitting member of the Crookston City Council, whose seat is not up for election this November, has filed his candidacy for mayor.

    Ward 5 Council Member Dale Stainbrook did so on Tuesday. As is the case with Briggs, who represents Ward 3, if Stainbrook is elected mayor, the council in early 2019 will have to appoint someone from Ward 5 to finish his term on the council. If Stainbrook is not elected mayor in November, he’ll be able to return to his council seat.

    Mayor Wayne Melbye, appointed in March of 2017 to finish the term of Gary Willhite, who was elected to the Polk County Board of Commissioners in the November 2016 election, is not seeking a full term.

    Also on Tuesday, Steve Erickson, the incumbent Ward 2 representative on the council, filed his candidacy for another term.

    Other council seats up for election this year are Dennis Regan’s seat in Ward 4, Tom Vedbraaten’s seat in Ward 6, and the at-large seat held by Bob Quanrud, who’s not seeking another term. Kelly Shea previously filed for Quanrud’s seat.   

     Anyone who wants to run for mayor or one of the four council seats up for election may pick up an affidavit of candidacy from the clerk at city hall. Affidavits of candidacy must be filed with the clerk through Tuesday, Aug. 14 between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. (They will be accepted until 5 p.m. on the deadline day, Aug. 14.) The filing fee is $2.