Awards presented to most supportive fans and boosters as well

    The spotlight was on members of the Crookston High School Class of 2017 Monday evening at the school, as the 9th Annual CHS Triple A (Academics, Arts, and Athletics) Senior Recognition Banquet was held.

    The event is sponsored by the Crookston Kiwanis, Crookston Rotary, Crookston Lions, Pirate Fine Arts Boosters, and Pirate Boosters. While Monday’s festivities were the ninth in the current, specific format and featuring the current sponsors, the annual celebration of the highest achievers in the CHS senior class dates back much further.

    Monday’s banquet in the CHS commons and awards ceremony following in the school auditorium accounted for the 65th Annual Lions and 16th Annual Fine Arts Banquet. By bringing the various forms of recognition into one event, the goal is to “promote the whole student.”

    Monday, CHS seniors were honored for the following achievements: Academic Letter, Athletics, Band, Choir, Drama, Knowledge Bowl, Leo Club, Orchestra, Speech, Student Council, Top Academics, Visual Arts, Yearbook, and National Honor Society.

    More than just members of the CHS Class of 2017 were honored Monday. Ray Dusek was presented with the Lions/Gary Zitzer Fan of the Year Award, Mike and Sue Tiedemann were named Lions Boosters of the Year, and Steve Kofoed was the recipient of the Lions Coach of the Year Award. In addition, the late June Shaver, whose estate continues to award numerous scholarships to CHS students each year, was named the Kiwanis Outstanding Supporter of the Arts. Annette Hegg accepted on Shaver’s behalf.

    Beyond individual accomplishments, Pirate teams were also recognized for their academic achievements during the 2016-17 school year. The girls’ basketball team received the Coaches Association Silver Certificate Award for having a team grade-point average of 3.733, the girls’ swimming team received an Academic Gold Certificate, and the wrestling team received a Minnesota Wrestling Coaches Association Academic Team Silver Award for having a team GPA between 3.0 and 3.499.

    Highlights included Jenna Porter being named the Carla Johnson Female Athlete of the Year, and Matt Garmen being named the Willis Eide Male Athlete of the Year. One of the evening’s most poignant moments came when Harold Unke presented the Ramona Unke Scholarship – named in honor/memory of his late wife – to Brita Fagerlund.