The Golden Eagles open the season in Hawai'i with four games.

    The University of Minnesota Crookston baseball program will officially open up the season Fri., Feb. 9 at Hans L’Orange Park in Waipahu, Hawai’i as they will have a three-game series against Hawai’i Pacific University. UMC is currently putting their final week of preseason work as they prepare to open up the 2018 season.

    The Golden Eagles are in their fourth season under Head Coach Steve Gust, who has ushered in one of the biggest turnarounds in all of college baseball in his time at UMC. The Golden Eagles have posted a 63-85 mark in three seasons after going just 2-89 in the previous two seasons prior to Gust’s arrival. UMC has also appeared in back-to-back NSIC Tournaments after not appearing previously since 2001.

    UMC looks poised to improve on their 24-28 mark from the 2017 season as they return seven starters in the field, along with three starters and the conference’s top closer in Zach Seipel. In the field, UMC will look to two-year starter Reed Hjelle. They will also be strong defensively as they return the program’s first ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove winner in Anthony Stewart.

Coaching Staff

    Gust returns for his fourth season with the Golden Eagles. The Sherack, Minn. native has been able to build the program in his first three seasons and looks poised to take the next step with a veteran squad in 2018.

    He will be assisted this season by another local product in Grand Forks, N.D. native Taylor Steen, who comes over from Emporia State University where he was an assistant coach last season. Steen was a catcher at Emporia State and Indiana State University. Steen is the top assistant for Gust, he serves as the hitting coach, catching coach and will coach third base for Minnesota Crookston.
Gust also brought back former player Colton Haight to the fold. The former Golden Eagle catcher was a four-year contributor for Minnesota Crookston. He is second all-time in games played, games started and at-bats. Haight will serve as the assistant pitching coach and will also coach first base.

    David Olson will also serve as an assistant coach for the Golden Eagles. Olson finished up his two-year playing career at Minnesota Crookston last season where he ended the year as the starter at third base. He was also a catcher for the Golden Eagles. He will help Steen as the assistant hitting coach.

    Minnesota Crookston also has two volunteer assistants in Brandon Kresl and Alex Sumner. Kresl, a native of Crookston and another former player at UMC.

    “This is the best staff we have had at UMC,” Gust said. “All five guys know exactly what I am looking for out of my players and my staff and they have all put in the work needed to get help get us to the top of the conference.”


R-Sr. C 7 Zach Frazier
Fr. C/UT 29 Ben Thoma
R-So. C 4 Clarke Peterson
R-Fr. C 31 Travis Conoryea

First Base

Jr. 1B 33 Reed Hjelle
R-So. 1B/3B 32 Hunter Baldwin
R-Fr. 1B 42 T.J. Hokanson
Fr. (Redshirt) 1B 45 Jake Thyes

Second Base

R-Sr. 2B 6 David Anaya
Sr. 2B 10 Jason Angelo
Fr. C/UT 29 Ben Thoma.
R-Fr., 2B 13 Adam Shykes
Jr. (Redshirt) 2B 41 Drew Chesley

Third Base

R-So. 3B/1B 32 Hunter Baldwin
Jr., 3B 16 Jonathan Lund
R-So. 3B 26 Tyson Tallakson
Short Stop
Sr. SS 27 Ethan Mushitz
R-Fr. SS 9 Griffin Fussy
R-Sr. SS 6 David Anaya

Left Field

Sr. OF 5 James Cullinane
Sr. OF 19 Riley Thompson
R-Jr. OF 28 Matt Nelson
R-Fr. OF 3 Reece Johnson
Jr. (Redshirt) OF 44 Jordan Deadwyler

Center Field

R-Sr. OF 1 Anthony Stewart
R-Fr. OF 2 Josh Bollig

Right Field

Sr. OF 20 Mitchell Bornhauser
Sr. OF 8 Scott Mortenson
Fr. OF 40 Eli Jung

Designated Hitter

R-So. DH 12 Wyatt Peppel

Starting Pitcher

Jr. RHP 23 Parker Hanson
So. RHP 18 Justin Yutrzenka
R-Sr. RHP 11 Jacob Butcher
Sr. RHP 14 Gabriel Cavasos
So. RHP 35 Jayden Grover
Jr. LHP 24 Zach Rustad


Jr. RHP 21 Zach Seipel
Jr. LHP 25 Aaron Hollcraft
R-So. LHP 30 Nate Albrecht
Jr. LHP 36 Dalton Grose
Jr. RHP 37 Louis Gerzin
Jr. LHP 34 Graeme Cherry
R-So. RHP 38 Esten Beneda
R-So. RHP 15 Eric Newman
R-Sr. RHP 17 Wyatt Huso
R-Fr. RHP 39 Greg Johnson
R-Fr. RHP 22 Brandon Lacher
Fr. (Redshirt) LHP 43 Jared Andersen