18 applied for Chamber executive director position

    The Crookston Area Chamber of Commerce and Convention & Visitors Bureau (CVB) have hired Terri Heggie as the new executive director.

     Heggie, a longtime Crookston resident and business owner, brings her skills in office management, communication, program development, and fiscal planning to her new role, search committee chair Andy Oman said in a statement Friday.

    Heggie fills the position made available by the resignation of Amanda Lien, who’s pursuing her masters degree.

    The Chamber executive director serves as the administrative officer for two boards—Chamber of Commerce and Convention & Visitors Bureau—and is responsible for the overall administration and management of the boards, their committees, and activities.

    Oman says the Chamber Board and CVB are ready to move forward under Heggie’s guidance. “The Chamber Board of Directors is looking forward to working with Heggie and are ready to support her energy and ideas as we work on efforts to promote the Crookston community and provide important benefits to our members,” he said.

    Heggie’s duties include fiscal planning, fundraising and recruitment; communication with membership and constituencies; staff management; committee organization, planning and assistance; and overall promotion of the community.

    Eighteen candidates applied for the position including three from the Crookston community and seven from the surrounding area. The voting members of the Chamber Board unanimously agreed on the hiring of Heggie as executive director, according to Friday’s statement. Voting members include Chris Fee, Lorna Hollowell, Ryan Palm, Angie Smith, Carmen Knutson, Crystal Maruska, Elizabeth Tollefson, Travis Pederson, Stephen Larson, Christopher Christian, Nick Noah, and Oman.

    Other than Oman, representing the Chamber Board, those participating in the interview/search process included Lori Wagner, past Chamber executive; Angie St. Michel, CVB Board chair; Laurie Stahlecker, CVB Board member; Carmen Knutson, Chamber Board member; Chris Fee, Chamber Board member; Brent Melsa, CVB Board member; and Dale Knotek, past hiring committee member.