Filing window closes Tuesday

    ESPO is making another run for mayor of Crookston, becoming the third person seeking to succeed two-term incumbent Dave Genereux, who announced previously that he wouldn’t seek a third term.    

    Previously filing for mayor are Ward 3 Crookston City Council Member Gary Willhite, who was appointed to the seat to finish the term of Keith Mykleseth, who moved to Bemidji, and Ward 5 Council Member Dale Stainbrook.   

    In Ward 2, incumbent Dana Johnson is being challenged by Steve Erickson. In Ward 4, incumbent Hector Santellanes, also an appointee, is being challenged by William Enlow. At Large Council Member Bob Quanrud is being challenged by Travis Oliver. As of now, Ward 6 incumbent Tom Vedbraaten is running unopposed.   

    As for the Crookston School Board, perhaps most notable is that incumbent Keith Bakken has yet to file for re-election. Incumbents Tim Dufault and Adrianne Winger have done so, joined by new candidate Patti Dillabough. Three seats are up for election, and the top three vote-getters will be elected.   

    The filing window for city council and school board closes at end of business Tuesday, Aug. 12.

Primary is Tuesday   

    Speaking of Tuesday, Aug. 12, that’s also the day of the Minnesota Primary election.
    Polling locations will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.   

    Crookston voters in Wards 1 and 5 vote at the Minnesota Department of Transportation office at the corner of Sunflower Street and Fairfax Avenue. Residents of Wards 2 and 4 vote at St. Paul’s Lutheran Church, and residents of Wards 3 and 4 vote at the Mount St. Benedict.