Five interested school district residents were interviewed Monday

    The Crookston School Board has selected Phill Greer to fill the vacancy on the board created by Robin Brekken's resignation in June. The board interviewed five applicants on Monday morning.    

    “First of all the school board was very impressed that six candidates showed their interest to fill the vacancy,” said Crookston School Board Chair Frank Fee. “We appreciate the passion and interest they have shown for the Crookston School District. That was encouraging to the board members. All the candidates interviewed had very positive points on why they would do an excellent job, but in the end, the board selected Mr. Greer.”   

    Greer is executive director of Tri-County Community Corrections in Crookston and serves on many boards through the corrections center and also is active in the Crookston Lions and Rotary clubs.  Greer’s wife, Wendy, is a teacher at Highland School.    

    “Phill won’t be able to vote on any school district negotiations that would directly affect his wife, but this is something that the board already deals with,” said Fee.    

    The board will continue to have two members, Greer and Dave Davidson, that cannot vote on teacher salaries. The same went for Brekken, when he was a board member. “We just have to make sure that we have the other four board members at that particular board meeting to approve a settlement so we have a quorum,” Fee said.   

    Greer will start on the school board in August, as he has a previous scheduled conflict when the Crookston School Board has their next regularly scheduled meeting on July 21.     

    There were six community members that expressed interest for the open position and five were interviewed as one person had a sudden conflict Monday morning and could not attend.    

    “We had some very strong candidates and I hope they all strongly consider running for the three school board positions that are up for election in November,” Fee said.  The filing period for the November election is July 29 to Aug. 12. The board members who seats will be up for election are Keith Bakken, Tim Dufault and Adrianne Winger.