Odland was the Youth Services Coordinator at CHS for 20 years from 1990 to 2010. Hastings was a standout hockey player for the Pirates, graduating in 1984, and is currently the head men's hockey coach at Minnesota State University, Mankato.

Crookston High School has announced it will induct Mary Ann Odland and Mike Hastings into the CHS Hall of Fame.

Odland was the Youth Services Coordinator at CHS for 20 years from 1990 to 2010. She started the Leo Club, which won the Leo Excellence Award every year since its inception. She received the Melvin Jones Fellowship Award by the Lions of District 5M11 as well as a number of other awards.

Hastings was a standout hockey player for the Pirates, graduating in 1984. He went on to play two seasons at St. Cloud State University. He was head coach and general manager of the Omaha Lancers of the United States Hockey League for 14 years. He was named head coach of Minnesota State University, Mankato in 2012 and was a finalist for the Spencer Penrose Award as AHCA National Coach of the Year in his first season at the helm.

The purpose of the Crookston High School Hall of Fame is to recognize and honor special achievement by individuals who have exemplified, developed, encouraged and fostered positive traits and attributes to enhance the stature of Crookston High School and School District #593's extracurricular activities and their important role in developing life long skills.


CHS Hall of Fame

2006 Inductees
T.W. Thorson
Alpha Morck Syverson
Sam Moscatelli
Roger Moe
Dorothy McCulla
Lloyd Lee
Bonnie Hirsh
L.E. Drechsel
Jerry Dahlberg
Howard Casmey 2011 Inductees
Alvern Wentzel
Ray J. Dusek
1980 Football State Champs 2007 Inductees
Bob Strand
Garfield Riechert
Ed Nelson
Ardell Knudsvig 2012 Inductees
Dr. Delton Roelofs
Frank Fee
Mary Ann Knotek
Charles Reynolds 2008 Inductees
Harley Stahlecker
James "Jim" Myrold
Carol Pester Montague
Merle Miller 2013 Inductees
Jim Kent
Debbie Hasbrouck
Larry Anderson
Amy and Norman Ellingson 2009 Inductees
Dr. Russell Sather
Al Droen 2014 Inductees
Mary Ann Odland
Mike Hastings 2010 Inductees
Rodd Olson
Leroy Krause    


Mary Ann Odland

Mary Ann Odland was born in Oakes, N.D. on May 20, 1940 and her family moved to Grand Forks, N.D. while she was in fifth grade.

After graduating from Grand Forks Central High School in 1958, she enrolled at the University of North Dakota (UND) and received her B.S. Degree in 1963, majoring in Elementary Education.

She began teaching kindergarten in 1963 at Grand Forks' Winship Elementary School.

She married Ed Odland on August 8, 1964 and taught two more years at Winship while Ed completed his law degree at UND.

The Odlands then moved to Bismarck, N.D. where Ed accepted a one-yar clerkship with the North Dakota Supreme Court and Mary Ann accepted a job teaching first grade at Richholt Elementary School.

In 1967, the Odlands moved to Crookston where Ed accepted a job with the law firm of Erickson and Erie and Mary Ann joined the Crookston school system, teaching first grade at Carman Elementary School.

In 1970, Mary Ann retired from teaching to start a family. When that didn't happen right away she accepted a position as a tutor with Franklin and Lincoln Elementary Schools in Crookston.

In 1973, Mary Ann retired again when she and Ed celebrated the birth of their daughter, Kari. Two years later in 1975, their son, Mitch, was born.

Mary Ann was a stay-at-home mom until the fall of 1990 when she accepted the position of Youth Services Coordinator at Crookston High School, which was a new position. She remained in that position for 20 years, until retiring in May of 2010.

The Leo Club, which the youth branch of the Lions, was started during her first year. The Noon Day Lions and Dawn to Dusk Lions Club held a Charter Night Banquet for the new Leo Club in January of 1991 with 35 charter members.

In the first year the Leo Club received the Leo Excellence Award and again for the next 20 years under the leadership of Mary Ann.

She is proud to see that continue with her two successors, Molly Simmons and Linda Morgan.

Other awards the Leo Club received during Mary Ann's tenure include:

Athletic Booster of the Year Crookston City Council Volunteer Award Wellness Award--presented by Wellness Works in recognition of effort to support a healthy community. Prevention Excellence Award--presented by the Minnesota American Cancer Society in recognition of the club's efforts to cut down on under-age smoking. United Way awards for outstanding community service and for enthusiasm and support Four J.C. Penney Golden Rule Awards Two certificates of commendation from Governor Arne Carlson Personally, Mary Ann was awarded a Melvin Jones Fellowship by the Lions of District 5M11. She is a recipient of the Partners in Education (PIE) Award, presented by the Chamber of Commerce. She received a Volunteerism Award from the Crookston City Council. She has also been honored by the Northwest Minnesota Women's Fun as an Outstanding Community Builder.


Mike Hastings

Named the head coach in April of 2012, Crookston native Mike Hastings, a 1984 graduate of Crookston High School and team captain of the 1983-84 Pirate boys' hockey team, has enjoyed immense success behind the bench of the Minnesota State University, Mankato men's hockey program in his first two season with the Mavericks.

In his first year, Hastings was named WCHA Coach of the Year after leading MSU to a 24-14-3 mark. He guided MSU to its first top-half league finish since 2007-08 and its second ever NCAA Tournament appearance.

The Mavericks achieved an all-time program best national ranking of No. 7 Feb. 25, had a seven-game winning streak from Nov. 23 to Dec. 14, and during the course of the season claimed wins over No. 2 Minnesota, No. 4 North Dakota and No. 15 Wisconsin. Hastings was named National Coach of the Year by College Hockey News and was a finalist for the Spencer Penrose Award as AHCA National Coach of the Year.

In his second season in charge, 2013-14, the Mavericks continued their ascent with the program racking up a 26-14-1 mark in establishing a school record for most win in a season for the Division I era. MSU captured its first ever Broadmoor Trophy as the WCHA Final Five champions and made its third NCAA Tournament appearance.

As just the third coach in the history of the Maverick men's hockey program, Hastings arrived at MSU following a three-year stint as associate head coach at University of Nebraska Omaha. He also served as an assistant coach with the men's hockey program at the University of Minnesota for one season.

Prior to that, Hastings was head coach of the Omaha Lancers of the United States Hockey League (USHL) for 14 years. He left the USHL as the all-time winningest coach in league history with a 529-210-56 record with the Lancers. His teams never had a losing season and won three Clark Cup titles as the USHL's playoff champions. He was named USHL Coach of the Year three times, and as the team's general manager earned league GM of the Year five times.

Hastings was an assistant coach for the U.S. national junior team at the 2003 and 2005 International Ice Hockey Federation World Junior Championships, and served twice as head coach for the U.S. junior select team that competed in the Viking Cup, earning gold medal honors in 2000.

A 1993 graduate of St. Cloud State University, Hastings played two seasons for the Huskies (1986-1988) before a back injury ended his career.

Hastings and his wife, Jean Ann, reside in North Mankato, Minn. with their daughter, Hannah, and son, Hudson.