You have to go back to 2005 for the last time Minnesota Crookston football was not picked last in the NSIC Preseason Coaches' Poll.

You have to go back to 2005 for the last time Minnesota Crookston football was not picked last in the NSIC Preseason Coaches' Poll. That trend continued for the eighth consecutive season as the Golden Eagles were selected 16th of 16 teams.

Minnesota State was selected by the league coaches as the overall and south division preseason favorite in the NSIC in 2013. The Mavericks received 13 first place votes and amassed 223 points, 16 more than Minnesota Duluth (207), who garnered two other first place votes and was the coaches' top choice in the north division. Winona State was picked third overall (191) while St. Cloud State (183) was fourth in the poll and garnered one first place vote.

As in the past five seasons, the NSIC football schedule will be broken into two divisions (north/south). Each team will play 11 conference games that will count towards the NSIC Overall Champion as well as seven divisional games that will count towards the NSIC North/South Division Championships. In all, three league championships will be awarded (Overall Champion, North Division Champion, South Division Champion). Ties will not be broken for overall or division champions.

St. Cloud State senior quarterback Phillip Klaphake was selected as NSIC North Offensive Preseason Player of the Year for the second straight season.

The Golden Eagles were picked to finish in a tie for last in the North Division with MSU Moorhead. The two teams meet Oct. 19 in Crookston in the Red River Valley Showdown presented by State Farm Insurance Andy Oman Agency.

UMC senior runningback Keith McBride and senior linebacker Ricky Jacobs were each named Preseason Players to Watch.

McBride, a Lodi, Wis. native, appeared in ten games, starting six as a redshirt junior for the Golden Eagles. He played mostly as a fullback last season, blocking for NSIC All-Conference running back Richard Haley, but will come into the season as UMC's feature running back in 2013, a position he held prior to battling injuries over the last two seasons. McBride was primarily used in a receiving role last season, catching 23 passes for 245 yards in 2012. His best game came in UMC's season-ending win against Mary as he had a career-high nine catches for 130 yards versus the Marauders. McBride has rushed for over 1,700 yards in his career with nearly 700 yards as a sophomore and nearly 1,000 yards in his freshman campaign. McBride was also stellar in the classroom last season, he was an NSIC Fall All-Academic selection.

Jacobs, a Junction City, Kan. native, had an immediate impact for the Golden Eagle defense in his first season in the Maroon and Gold after transferring from Independence C.C. Jacobs was third on the team with 55 tackles during his junior campaign helping lead to an All-NSIC North Honorable Mention selection. He started all 11 games at linebacker. In addition, Jacobs picked up 4.5 tackles for loss and one sack. He was second on the team in interceptions with three on the season. Jacobs also had one pass break-up and two forced fumbles on the year.

The Golden Eagles open the season Friday, Sept. 6 at home against Upper Iowa. Kick off is set for 6 p.m.

St. Cloud State senior defensive back Jack Moro was picked as the NSIC North Defensive Preseason Player of the Year. Sioux Falls senior wide receiver Carrington Hanna was named the NSIC South Offensive Preseason Player of the Year, while Concordia, St. Paul senior defensive end Zach Moore was selected as the NSIC South Defensive Preseason Player of the Year.

NSIC Overall Preseason Coaches' Poll

1. Minnesota State (13) - 223

2. Minnesota Duluth (2) - 207

3. Winona State - 191

4. St. Cloud State (1) - 183

5. Sioux Falls - 159

6. Bemidji State - 140

7. Wayne State - 137

8. Northern State - 128

9. Augustana - 125

10. Concordia, St. Paul - 96

11. Mary - 82

12. Southwest Minnesota State - 77

13. Upper Iowa - 63

14. Minot State - 57

15. MSU Moohread - 35

16. Minnesota Crookston - 17

first place votes in ()

North Division

1. Minnesota Duluth (6) - 48

2. St. Cloud State (2) - 42

3. Northern State - 36

4. Bemidji State - 34

5. Mary - 23

6. Minot State - 21

t-7. Minnesota Crookston - 10

t-7. MSU Moorhead - 10

South Division

1. Minnesota State (6) - 48

2. Winona State (2) - 44

3. Sioux Falls - 32

4. Wayne State - 31

5. Augustana - 27

6. Concordia, St. Paul - 16

7. Southwest Minnesota State - 15

8. Upper Iowa - 11