Here’s a check-in with students from Crookston and the area who have reached various milestones or achieved academic accomplishments and local and area colleges and universities.

• Stephanie Genereux, Crookston, Minn., was recently named to the “Who’s Who” at Mavyille State University. She earned a Bachelor of Science in Education degree at the conclusion of the fall semester of 2012. She completed a major in elementary education and minors in early childhood and special education generalist. Stephanie was a dean’s list student and scholarship recipient. She was active on campus as a member and officer with the Student Education Association, Student Activities Council, Student Senate, Newman Club, and MSU Concert Band and Choir. Her parents are David and Linnea Genereux.

    • Noah Fagerlund of Crookston was named to the Spring 2013 Dean’s List at Jamestown College. He earned a GPA of at least 3.5 and took a minimum of 12 credits.

    • The Mayville State University Spring 2013 Dean’s List includes, from Crookston, Kelsey Melsa and Rachel Sanders.

    • Julianna Emanuel and Trevor Staehnke of Crookston, along with Kaia Korynta of Fisher, were named to the Minnesota State Community and Technical College Spring 2013 Dean’s List.

    • Crookston High School 2013 graduate Alex Boike is the recipient of one of 21 $200 scholarships from Altru Health System. He will major in pre-med.

    • The Spring 2013 Dean’s List at North Dakota State University includes, from Crookston, Matthew J. Bjorgo, Management Information Systems; Taylor M. Cymbaluk, Animal Science; Riley E. Erickson, Nursing; Christopher A. Follette Mechanical Engineering; Lauren A. Graham, Psychology; and, Marinda L. Kurpius-Brock Psychology. Named from Fisher are Mason J. Grimes , Health Education; and, Andrew J. Knox Agricultural Systems Biology.

    • The Minnesota State University Moorhead Spring 2013 Dean’s List includes, from Crookston, Tyler Bjerk, Construction Management; and, from Fisher, Meredith Egeland, Speech/Language/Hearing Science.

    • Students accepted to Jamestown College: Dylan Klatt and McKaela Larson of Crookston have been accepted to Jamestown College beginning in the fall of 2013. They graduated this spring from Crookston High School.

Klatt is the son of Dylane and Jeanne Klatt. He plans to major in business at Jamestown College and play football for the Jimmies. The College has awarded him a Success Award, Alumni Referral Award and Football Award.

    Larson is the daughter of Wendy Sturm. She plans to major in exercise science and music performance at Jamestown College and participate in theatre, choir and soccer. The College has awarded her a Trustee Scholarship and Fine Arts Award.

    • Gloria Ibanez of Crookston earned a A.A. degree in Liberal Arts, and Connor Thoreson of Climax earned an A.A.S. degree in John Deere Tech from the North Dakota State College of Science in Wahpeton in the spring of 2013.

    • The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi is pleased to announce that Madelyn Pristanski of Crookston, Minn., was recently initiated into Phi Kappa Phi, the nation's oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines. Pristanski is pursuing a degree in Veterinary Medicine at University of Minnesota.

    Pristanski is among approximately 32,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni to be initiated into Phi Kappa Phi each year. Membership is by invitation and requires nomination and approval by a chapter.

    Only the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors, having at least 72 semester hours, are eligible for membership. Graduate students in the top 10 percent of the number of candidates for graduate degrees may also qualify, as do faculty, professional staff, and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction.

    Founded in 1897 at the University of Maine and headquartered in Baton Rouge, La., Phi Kappa Phi is the nation's oldest and most selective all-discipline honor society. The Society has chapters on more than 300 college and university campuses in North America and the Philippines. Its mission is "To recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others."