Crookston Times - Crookston, MN
  • AV’s Jones, DeLaSalle’s Travis share AP award

  • This time, Tyus Jones has to share the honor.
    • email print
  • This time, Tyus Jones has to share the honor.
    The Apple Valley junior point guard was named Monday the co-winner of the Minnesota Associated Press Player of the Year award for high school boys basketball, with DeLaSalle junior power forward Reid Travis. Jones was the sole recipient his sophomore season.
    Both Jones and Travis led their teams to state championships Saturday. Apple Valley won in Class 4A, and DeLaSalle won in Class 3A. Both players are highly regarded national recruits.
    Joining Jones and Travis on the AP's all-state team were Anders Broman of Lakeview Christian Academy in Duluth, Rashad Vaughn of Robbinsdale Cooper and Graham Woodward of Edina. Vaughn is also part of the state's heralded junior class. Broman became the state's all-time leading scorer this season with 5,119 points.
    The Associated Press 2013 All-State team for Minnesota high school boys basketball, as voted on by statewide media.
    Tyus Jones, Apple Valley and Reid Travis, DeLaSalle
    Tyus Jones, jr, Apple Valley
    Reid Travis, jr, DeLaSalle
    Anders Broman, sr, Lakeview Christian Academy
    Rashad Vaughn, jr, Robbinsdale Cooper
    Graham Woodward, sr, Edina
    Quinton Hooker, sr, Park Center
    J.P. Macura, jr, Lakeville North
    Alex Illikainen, so, Grand Rapids
    Joe Aase, sr, Austin
    Renard Suggs, sr, Woodbury
    Ben Oberfeld, sr, Eastview
    Quashingm Smith-Pugh, sr, St. Paul Johnson
    Scott Litchy, sr, Albany
    Riley Dearring, sr, Minnetonka
    Mack Johnson, sr, Roseville
    Recent winners of the Associated Press Player of the Year award for Minnesota high school boys basketball:
    2013 - Tyus Jones, G, Apple Valley and Reid Travis, F, DeLaSalle
    2012 - Tyus Jones, G, Apple Valley
    2011 - Joe Coleman, F, Hopkins
    2010 - Marshall Bjorklund, C, Sibley East
    2009 - Mike Bruesewitz, F, Henry Sibley
    2008 - Cody Schilling, G, Ellsworth
    2007 - Cole Aldrich, C, Bloomington Jefferson
    2006 - Isaiah Dahlman, F, Braham
    2005 - Isaiah Dahlman, F, Braham
    2004 - Spencer Tollackson, C, Chaska
    2003 - Kris Humphries, F, Hopkins
    2002 - Kris Humphries, F, Hopkins
    2001 - Rick Rickert, C, Duluth East
    2000 - Adam Boone, G, Minnetonka and Rick Rickert, C, Duluth East
    1999 - Shane Schilling, F, Minnetonka
    1998 - Joel Przybilla, C, Monticello
    1997 - Joel Przybilla, C, Monticello
    1996 - Khalid El-Amin, G, Minneapolis North
    1995 - Nate Holmstadt, C, Monticello and Robert Mestas, G, Minneapolis Roosevelt
    1994 - Sam Jacobson, G, Park of Cottage Grove
    1993 - Skipp Schaefbauer, G, Elk River
    Page 2 of 2 - 1992 - Trevor Winter, C, Slayton
    1991 - Joel McDonald, G, Chisholm
    1990 - Chad Kolander, C, Owatonna
Terms of Service

    Events Calendar