Besse will play in college for Wisconsin.

Grant Besse of Benilde-St. Margaret's is the Associated Press Player of the Year for Minnesota high school hockey.

The award, voted on by a statewide panel of sports writers and broadcasters, was announced on Tuesday.

Besse scored 48 goals for the Red Knights, who lost to Wayzata in their section final last month after winning the state title in Besse's junior season. He scored five goals in the championship game last year and finished fifth in Minnesota history with 163 goals.

Besse will play in college for Wisconsin.

He was joined on the AP's all-state team by forwards Zach LaValle of Hill-Murray, Zack Glienke of Eagan, defensemen Jake Bischoff of Grand Rapids and Tommy Vannelli of Minnetonka and goalie David Zevnik of St. Thomas Academy.

Past AP Players of the Year for boys’ hockey
A list of the players of the year for Minnesota boys high school hockey since The Associated Press started the award:

2013 - Grant Besse, F, Benilde-St. Margaret's
2012 - Jake Randolph, F, Duluth East
2011 - Kyle Rau, F, Eden Prairie
2010 - Nick Bjugstad, F, Blaine
2009 - Ben Hanowski, F, Little Falls
2008 - Aaron Ness, D, Roseau
2007 - Patrick White, F, Grand Rapids
2006 - David Fischer, D, Apple Valley
2005 - Brian Lee, D, Moorhead
2004 - Tom Gorowsky, F, Centennial
2003 - Mike Lundin, D, Apple Valley
2002 - Gino Guyer, F, Greenway
2001 - Gino Guyer, F, Greenway
2000 - Paul Martin, D, Elk River
1999 - Dan Welch, F, Hastings
1998 - John Pohl, F, Red Wing
1997 - Dylan Mills, D, Duluth East
1996 - Dave Spehar, F, Duluth East
1995 - Matt Cullen, F, Moorhead