Musical, part of Summer Arts Safari, was performed Aug. 16-17 in Kiehle Auditorium.

Summer Arts Safari ran from Aug. 13-18 in Crookston, with 51 kids participating in a workshop/camp full of dramatic activities that culminated with theatrical performances of "Willy Wonka Kids" for the public on Friday and Saturday. Crookston Community Theatre, American Legion Post 20 and the University of Minnesota, Crookston co-sponsor the workshop and production, its 12th year in Crookston. The musical is presented through special arrangement with Music Theatre International.

A touring troupe of young adult thespians based out of East Grand Forks conducts the SAS theatre residency every year. Those involved in Crookston's event this year were Eric Voigt, Alex Fairchild, Michael Erickson and Justin Nelson, with Leah Entzel and Sarah Peterson serving as accompanists.

The following is a synopsis of the production provided by SAS:

"Willy Wonka Kids follows enigmatic candy manufacturer Willy Wonka as he stages a contest by hiding five golden tickets in five of his scrumptious candy bars. Whoever comes up with these tickets will win a free tour of the Wonka factory, as well as a lifetime supply of candy. Four of the five winning children are insufferable brats: the fifth is a likeable young lad named Charlie Bucket who takes the tour in the company of his equally amiable grandfather. The children must learn to follow Mr. Wonka's rules in the factory – or suffer the consequences."

Cast members
Willy Wonka - Marie Sandman
Charlie Bucket - Alex MacGregor
Mr. Bucket - Elliot Chapman
Mrs. Bucket - Ella Weber
Grandpa Joe - Grace Steiner
Grandma Josephina - Linnea French
Grandpa George - Noah Kiel
Grandma Georgina - Baily Bradford
Candyman - Averi Thompson
Jamie - Ashley Manning
Matilda - Sarah Ryan
Phineous Trout - Blaine Asman
Augusta Gloop - Victoria Proulx
Mrs. Gloop - Aleece Durbin
Veruca Salt - Melissa Beiswinger
Mr. Salt - Trevor Boe
Violet Beauregarde - Audrey Harbott
Mrs. Beauregarde - Ariel Laplante
Mike Teavee - Andrew MagGregor
Ms. Teavee - Isabella Gatica
Oompa-Loompas - Arlie Rudnik, Alayna Borlow, Madeline Everett, Karlie Brekken, Kathryn Halos, Sophia Steiner, Ashlyn Genereux, Gretchen Theis, Trinity Froehler, Meleah Lajesse
Squirrels - Jordyn Kemmer, Ella Kiel, Oliver Chapman, Carly Brown, Kayla Brekken, Eliza Meyer, Hannah LaPlante, Ava Lopez
Candy Kids - Jacob Becker, Gabriela Ostgaard, Zoe Everett, Lily Sandman, Makenzie Epema, Haden Michaelson, Clara Meyer, Casey LaPlante, Mallorie Sundeen, Brianna Kelly, Georgie French, Zach Johnson